Answers · Portative organ · Video

Kasserede ting

New video:

2 thoughts on “Kasserede ting

  1. I really like your portative organ project, your valves are really neat, it would’ve solved a lot design problems I had making mine.

    I wanted to share some ideas about air supply

    I have in my projects used the quite a few different means of supplying air such as;

    – letting each pipe be supplied with air through its own bellows,
    often I made these bellows look like keys (angle cut boxes)
    it has the benfit of making a pipe organ act a piano
    (velocity matters, whilist most wind chest organs are binary on/off)
    but suffers from a lack of sustain

    – supplying air manually by lung using a hose with a mouth piece

    – supplying air by letting each pipe hold a “piston” in its body, that a key strikes (falls back down by gravity)
    I would not recommend this

    – using blowers
    electric blowers tend to be too loud (but a 12v one may still run at 6v and be.. less loud) for small pipe organs but
    there are blowers that are hand cranked, often marketed as BBQ fire starters,
    that operate with gear ratios that allow for powerful bursts of air

    – using one bellows or pump to inflate a second bellows with a weight on it, connected to the windchest
    this is likely overkill for smaller pipe organs

    – using a single bellows with a “flap”-valve, acctually, Ive made a few that are constructed such as:
    2 boards, can be cardboard, tape can connect and create a hinge, the top board has a hole in it,
    on what is to be the inside of the bellows sits a quite large (~1/3d the bellows ‘length’, 1/6th the width) paper,
    simply glued or taped somewhat loosely at both ends, so that when the bellows is pushed down / in, this hole is sealed
    but when dragged out, it lets air in.

    This type of bellows is what most portatives use. One does not have to make a lot of folds, a single simple “cuckoo clock” type fold is sufficent.

    A good way to make a bellows air proof is to use a material known as Tyvek, it can be bought somewhat cheaply as rain ponchos or ‘water proof envelops’.

    I just wanted to share this as supplying air used to be something I really did not enjoy having to deal with at later stages in my projects.

  2. Hi Nick
    Thanks for your answer.

    To use the lungs to supply air is not an option for me. It will inject saliva into the organ valves and pipes, and I will not be able to speak or sing while I play the organ.
    I find it very difficult to make bellows with several folds, so the one that I have built is much simpler. I use tarpaulin (presenning) as isolating material, and the valve is a big valve, I open and close manually with the hand, so it can be filled with air very fast.

    See this video and images:
    https://houdorf.wordpress.com/2015/07/11/701/

    Perhaps I will make some bellows like fireplace bellows with a valve that open and close automatically. The air itself then operate the valve.

    I could maybe build a hand crank air blower, but I find it difficult to make the gears.

    /Houdorf

Leave a Reply

